thats pretty much the twins in a nutshell.
We strum chords, fly through books, write our ABCs, growl like tigers, and steal milk cups
Sunday, January 30, 2011
haircuts cubed
we finally cut the boys hair, it seriously needed taming and i think the twins were growing mini mullets. here's the before and afters:
all in all we think it's an improvement, at least they look maintained now! it's possible that someone might think kade and crew recently enlisted in the military, but i'm hoping their age will prove otherwise.
you lose some, you lose some
so i'd prefer the phrase "you win some, you lose some" so i'd at least get to win some of the time, but not in this situation. this is the dresser we bought when brody was a baby, as you can see that ikea craftsmanship has held up impeccably!


i hated that dresser! it only had one drawer that properly worked which we tried to keep all the twins clothes in (thankfully it was the biggest drawer.) but more often than not we had to put clothes in the broken drawers, which lead to things like this happening during nap time:


so now instead of just hating the dresser, i then started hating all the clothes i would have to clean up during the course of a day. i finally decided on a dresser to buy the boys, and here she is:

we haven't put the hardware on yet, and we tied hemp cord around the drawers to keep them closed. but wait, didn't i say this was a lose/lose post? oh right, thats cause of this:


worse than before. and they can climb on top of the dresser for a nice place to sit and look out over their room. big. fat. fail. twins- 2, mom-0.
showing some skin
so i've posted about the twins wake-up apparel before, but here's crew's latest morning fad:

what? you think this is weird? well maybe he's wearing the sleeper correctly and your kids are actually wearing theirs incorrectly, good luck with that.
men at work
Tuesday, January 18, 2011
high maintenance to what maintenance?
you know how it goes with your first kid, you're on top of every runny nose, hand sanitizer for after park play, washing the pacifier off whenever it falls, never forgetting to wipe the highchair tray so baby food won't set hard on. yeah totally, me too. in a phrase i was a total high maintenance mom. people say it changes the more you have, holy cow! poor kade and crew! i get tired of wiping every run of snot, i was super relieved they never took pacifiers cause it would be one less thing for me to disinfect, and certainly can't control every little piece of food that drips, drops, or is grinded into their clothes. the thing is people still think i'm pretty uptight when it comes to my boys, but sometimes i wonder if i've totally fallen off the maintenance boat! sure, you'll be nice and say i'm doing fine, but seriously, my kids look like this:

good luck first time moms, but i strongly believe your maintenance goes out the window with subsequent children, well so does your sanity for that matter.
Sunday, January 9, 2011
at a loss
i straighten my hair every single day. i don't care if i plan on wearing it in a ponytail all day long, i'll straighten it before hand. naturally it's kind of wavy on top and kind of curly under neath, sounds like that would be so fun and versatile, but really, not so much (or at all.) it's a nightmare. it never occurred to me that i would pass this on to one of my kids, one of my boys. but you've all seen brody's hair. it's beyond something else. i don't really have words for it. it's so unruly (kind of fits the kid eh?) we've decided to let it grow because it's really hard to style. alyssa did a great job styling it over christmas, but i believed she used gel, hairspray, a hair dryer and a whole "technique", more than my day allots. all i know is it needs to be quick and the pomade we use doesn't hold, i don't know how to tame it from this point. but i love it, it's kind of his trademark, and i'd never cut it off. let's just agree now that if you see brody and his fro seems a little unkempt, just roll with it because this hair has me at a loss!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)